Last Updated: October 31, 2022 by Sam John
Personal mobility devices are one of the fastest-growing industries. Every other day new company steps into the field with the latest technology at pocket-friendly prices. This ultimately increases the personal ownership of electric scooters and we see many electric scooters riding on the roads. With this, people become curious to know electric scooter laws by state. Following and obeying rules and legislation is an indication of a responsible citizen.
Amongst 50 states of the US, Pennsylvania is the only state where electric scooters are illegal. However, the other 50 states somehow allow electric scooters. Where else you can legally rider an electric scooter? This article will discuss some electric scooters laws by state in the US in 2022. Though collecting and reading all available and enacted laws is a bit tricky task but we have made it easy for you in the form of an ultimate guide about electric scooter laws by state.
Electric Scooter Laws by State
1. Alabama Electric Scooter Laws:
Alabama has legalized the e-scooters on street. You need to have a Class M license for using an electric scooter. M license is restricted to riders of 14 years and above. So if you are younger than 14 years, you cannot ride an electric scooter in Alabama State. Furthermore, electric scooter riders are allowed to ride on the right side of the road. Riding sideways is strictly forbidden.
2. Alaska Scooter Laws:
Alaska is the second state out of 9 states where you need to have a license to ride an e-scooter. Since they are considered as “motor-driven cycle” therefore riders need to have a Class M licensed for it. In class M, three subcategories are M1, M2, and M3. Out of which M1 or M3 is for those riders who are 16 plus whereas M2 is for riders ages 14 and 15 years. Besides this, you are not allowed to use an electric scooter with a power output of more than 750W.
3. Arizona Scooter Laws:
In Arizona, e-scooters are considered the same as regular bicycles therefore, there isn’t any license regulation for kick scooters. As long as it is controlled by throttle and weighs less than 75 lbs then it comes under the regular bicycle category. The speed limit is not more than 20mph.
4. Arkansas Electric Scooter Laws:
Electric motorized scooter law was passed in July 2019. According to this law in Arkansas electric scooters should weigh less than 100 pounds and should not exceed the top speed of 20 mph. But in Arkansas riders are not allowed to ride faster than 15 mph. Also, the rider should not be younger than 16 years old to operate the bike.
5. California Laws for Scooters:
In California, you don’t need to have a specific license for riding an electric scooter, instead, a regular driver’s license will be enough to ride motorized e-scooters. Also, e-scooters don’t need to register with DVM, therefore no need to carry a license plate. Wearing a helmet is mandatory for riding electric scooters especially for riders under 18 years. E-scooters shouldn’t be driven faster than 25 mph on road.
6. Colorado Electric Scooter Laws:
Electric scooters are allowed with a maximum speed of 30 mph. You cannot go beyond that. Colorado states follow the same rules for electric scooters as bicycles including no parking or no ride area. Also, when riding on sidewalks the speed should not cross 6 mph.
7. Connecticut Electric Scooter Laws:
In October 2019, electric scooters and electric bicycles were legalized in Connecticut. They follow similar laws and regulations as for motorbikes. While riding electric scooters on the streets of Connecticut it should not exceed the speed of 20 mph. Also, they are strictly not allowed to ride on pedestrian sidewalks. Riders, aged 16 years or less must wear Helmets while using electric scooters.
8. Delaware Scooter Laws:
Delaware has got some strict restrictions on electric scooters. Electric scooters and skateboards are not allowed in the state of Delaware. They are not allowed to be used in any public area. These laws must be enforced in legally grey areas. But there are some locations of the state where you can legally ride electric scooters. For this, a helmet is mandatory especially if you are under 16.
9. District of Columbia Scooter Laws:
According to new legislation passed in October 2020, electric scooters are termed as personal mobility devices or PMD in the District of Columbia. As per this new legislation, PMDs do not come in the category of motor vehicles like cars and bikes. Therefore no license and registration are required for riding electric scooters. However, riders should not be under 16 and are not allowed to ride on sidewalks. The speed limit should not exceed 10 mph. Besides this, wearing headphones during riding is strictly forbidden.
10. Florida Electric Scooter Laws:
In the state of Florida, electric kick scooters are legalized but no license is required. However, the rider must be 16 years or older and allowed to ride an e-scooter only in the bike lanes. The maximum operated speed should not exceed 30 mph.
11. Georgia Scooter Laws:
Residents of Georgia states can ride e-scooters on bike paths and lanes. They are even allowed to ride on roads but with a maximum speed of 35 mph. Make sure that the scooter should weigh less than 100 pounds.
12. Hawaii Electric Scooter Laws:
When it comes to US scooter laws by state, Hawaii is the state where you can ride an e-scooter with full freedom without any restrictions. There aren’t any rules and regulations about kick scooters in Hawaii currently. The majority of the residents of Hawaii have got privately owned electric scooters for commuting to nearby places.
13. Idaho Electric Scooter Laws:
Like Hawaii, the state of Idaho also lacks any legislation concerning electric kick scooters. Whereas, in Boise, city e-scooters are allowed on sidewalks and greenbelts with no restrictions on wearing helmets.
14. Illinois Scooter Laws:
Illinois has passed certain rules and regulations about electric scooters which have not been acted upon yet. E-scooters are termed “low-speed electric scooters” and follow the same rules as bicycles. Riders must be 17 years or older and should possess a license for riding an electric scooter. Also, the scooter must have rear and front lights to ride safely at night.
15. Indiana Electric Scooter Laws:
The state laws of Indiana outlines that the electric scooter should not exceed the maximum weight limit of 100 pounds. The maximum speed should not be more than 20 mph. If the e-scooter meets these criteria, only then you are allowed to ride on streets and bike lanes following the same bicycle rules.
Related: How Much Do A Electric Scooters Cost in 2022
16. Iowa Scooter Laws:
For an electric scooter, Iowa has not fully passed regulations to date. But whenever the bill will pass it would have certain rules such as:
- Electric kick scooter should weigh less than 100 lbs.
- The maximum speed limit will be 20 mph and not more than that.
17. Kansas Scooter Laws:
Kansas is amongst one of the US states where a valid driver’s license is mandatory to operate e-scooters on streets. Riders are strictly forbidden to ride on sidewalks and highways. Also, the helmet is not mandatory.
18. Kentucky Electric Scooter Laws:
In the state of Kentucky, they put e-scooters & bicycles in the same category. This means you can freely operate it in public areas without any insurance and registration. However, the kick scooter should have rear and front lights to maximize visibility at night. Besides this, there must be a horn or bell to alert pedestrians. 16 years or older can only ride on it in Kentucky.
19. Louisiana Scooter Laws:
As per the state laws, electric scooters are only allowed to use on a bicycle path, sidewalks, greenbelts, and streets with a maximum speed of 25 mph. Riders under 17 years must wear a helmet.
20. Maine Electric Scooter Laws:
Residents of Maine are allowed to operate the electric scooter with a speed of 20 mph or less. The scooter must have the white front light and rear red light along with few reflectors on the body. The wheel should be 10” in diameter and the bike must be equipped with a maximum power of 760 watts. License is mandatory for the riders.
21. Marland Scooter Laws:
Electric scooter in Maryland follows same rules and regulations as bicycles. The scooter should not exceed the maximum speed of 20 mph.
22. Massachusetts E-Scooter Laws:
Massachusetts has legalized electric scooters and falls them under the category of mopeds. A helmet is mandatory for riders along with a valid driver’s license. The scooter should have an audible horn and bell to alert the pedestrian. The maximum operated speed should not exceed 20mph.
23. Michigan Scooter Laws:
In Michigan, electric scooters are classified as electric skateboards. Therefore it has got certain restrictions that are:
- Only one person is allowed at a time.
- E-scooter should not have a motor of more than 500 watts.
- The maximum speed should not exceed 25 mph.
- Riders can use kick scooters on streets with a speed of less than 25mph.
- E-scooter should have bright white front light that should be visible from 500ft. Also, rear reflectors should be there which can be seen from 600 ft away.
24. Minnesota Electric Scooter Laws:
Minnesota has legalized electric scooters and classified them as motorized foot scooters. Riders must not be younger than 12 years old to ride kick scooters and should wear a helmet. The motorized foot scooter should travel at a speed of 15 mph or less. The wheels should be 12” in diameter and not more than that.
25. Mississippi Electric Scooter Laws:
Mississippi doesn’t have any regulations concerning electric kick scooters. A bill was introduced about kick scooters in 2020 but it was failed to pass.
26. Missouri Scooter Laws:
E-scooters are classified as “motorized bicycles” and for this, the rider must have a valid driver’s license. The rider is allowed to operate kick scooters only in the street and bike lanes.
27. Montana Laws for Scooters:
In Montana, you can’t ride on e-scooters on the sidewalk because it is meant for pedestrians. Electric scooters must have a bell or horn or give any verbal sign to alert the pedestrians. E-scooter riders should follow all the normal traffic laws.
28. Nebraska Electric Scooter Laws:
Electric scooter regulations have not been enacted in Nebraska yet, at the state level. Therefore, normal traffic laws are followed by riders when operating electric scooters. In Nebraska, registration for electric scooters is not mandatory. Riding an electric scooter sideways is not allowed in the state.
29. Nevada Laws for Scooters:
Nevada has legalized electric scooters but with certain restrictions, that are:
- A scooter should ride at a maximum speed of 20 mph.
- The maximum scooter weight should be 100 lbs excluding the weight of the rider.
- Riders must be 16 years old to ride the kick scooter in Nevada.
30. New Hampshire Electric Scooter Laws:
Like Mississippi, New Hampshire doesn’t have any specific laws regarding electric kick scooters.
31. New Jersey Electric Scooter Laws:
The state’s law of New Jersey has classified electric scooters as “low-speed electric scooters” which should not exceed the speed of 19 mph. Riders in New Jersey don’t require registration, license, or insurance to ride the e-scooter.
32. New Mexico Scooter Laws:
New Mexico does not have any specific laws and legislation regarding electric scooters. The local government has introduced certain regulations. Riders usually follow local scooter laws as per their area.
33. New York Electric Scooter Laws:
As per the state laws of New York about electric scooters, the rider must be 16 years old and should wear a helmet especially if he is under 18. Riding on sidewalks is not allowed whereas riding on streets with a speed limit of 30 mph is permissible.
34. North Carolina Scooter Laws:
State laws of North Carolina have classified electric scooters as normal vehicles. Therefore, kick scooters must be registered with DVM. Also, a valid license is mandatory for riding on the streets. Only those scooters are allowed to be on the streets that have a maximum speed of 25 mph.
35. North Dakota Scooter Laws:
Since North Dakota doesn’t have any legislation regarding electric scooters, therefore, laws concerning moped are applicable in the state. According to legislation, e-scooters/mopeds are not allowed on sidewalks, bike paths. The rider must wear a proper helmet especially if he is under 18. Front and rear headlights with functional brakes are mandatory in all-electric scooters.
36. Ohio Electric Scooter Laws:
Electric scooters are allowed in Ohio but should not exceed the speed of 20 mph. Also, the maximum weight of the scooter should not be more than 100 lbs excluding the weight of the rider. Riders do not require any license or registration to ride the scooters.
37. Oklahoma Electric Scooter Laws:
Like New Hampshire, no state laws regarding electric scooters exist in Oklahoma. Riders should follow the laws set by local authorities in their areas.
38. Oregon Scooter Laws:
Here moped laws are considered as appropriate for electric scooters since there are no specific regulations about electric scooters in the state of Oregon. The rider should be 16 years old. The electric scooter should not exceed the speed of 15mph. riding on sidewalks is not allowed.
38. Pennsylvania Electric Scooter Laws:
Riding electric scooters on roads is completely illegal in Pennsylvania. Currently, it is the only state where electric scooters are not allowed.
39. Rhode Island Scooter Laws:
No statewide regulations about electric scooters in Rhode Island. Usually, riders follow the rules set by local authorities to ride electric scooters.
40. South Carolina Scooter Laws:
In certain cities of South Carolina, electric scooters are completely banned like Charleston and Columbia. Other than these cities, no such statewide legislations are addressing electric scooters. Riders follow normal traffic rules.
41. South Dakota Electric Scooter Laws:
No statewide laws exist in South Dakota about electric scooters. Therefore moped regulations are implied over electric scooters. That’s why if you are riding an e-scooter in South Dakota, make sure that it has mirrors, brakes, front and rear lights with reflectors. Apart from these, a license, insurance, and DMV registration should be there with the rider. Helmets are mandatory for all age riders.
42. Tennessee Scooter Laws:
Like other US states, electric scooters are legalized in Tennessee in July 2019. E-kick scooters couldn’t be allowed and speed shouldn’t exceed more than 20 mph. Only those Electric scooters fall under the category of e-bikes that weighs less than 100 pounds and should have brakes with bright front and rear lights.
43. Texas Electric Scooter Laws:
No specific electric kick scooter laws exist in Texas. Therefore riders are bound to obey existing DMV rules. According to this law, moped/scooters are not allowed to be ridden on streets with a speed greater than 35 mph. The power of the motor should not exceed 750-Watts. In Texas, you don’t need any license or insurance for riding an electric scooter.
44. Utah Scooter Laws:
In Utah, electric scooters are treated as bicycles. That means, no license or registration is required to ride electric scooters. You can ride your e-scooter anywhere just like your bicycle. The only limitation is the speed limit that should not exceed 25 mph on roads. Utah is the only state that requires parental supervision the younger riders under 15.
45. Vermont Scooter Laws:
Electric scooters can be operated on streets and roads but not on sidewalks in Vermont. No statewide e-scooter law exists in Vermont. Therefore every city has its own set of regulations. The crux is, electric scooters are just like normal vehicles that should be ridden on roads only.
46. Virginia Electric Scooter Laws:
Virginia has got electric kick scooters laws which are strictly followed by all the riders. According to e-scooter law:
- Kick scooter must weigh less than 100 pounds.
- It should have a top speed of 20 mph.
- The age limit for the rider is 14 years or older.
- E-scooters are not allowed to be used on highways.
47. Washington Scooter Laws:
Electric scooters are addressed in motorized foot scooters in the legislation. Electric kick scooters are allowed to be used on roads and bike lanes but they should not exceed the maximum speed of 15 mph. The scooter should have reflectors and front and rear lights for better visibility at night. Sidewalk riding is allowed in some cities of the states.
48. West Virginia Scooter Laws:
No specific laws regarding e-scooters. Therefore no need for a license or registration. They follow the same rules as bicycles. However, the rider must wear a helmet especially if they are under 15.
49. Wisconsin Electric scooter Laws:
Electric scooters are allowed to be used on roads and sidewalks (in certain conditions). The speed limit should not be more than 20 mph. According to state law; the maximum weight of the scooter should not be more than 100lbs excluding the weight of the rider.
50. Wyoming Electric Scooter Laws:
In Wyoming, e-scooter riders follow the same rules and regulations as bicycles rider. The state law has exempted electric kick scooters from license or registration.
Safety should be your utmost priority while riding an electric scooter. No matter if your state requires it or not, wearing a proper riders’ helmet with bright and visible front and rear headlights is the better approach to remain safe and sound. Remember, following rules is not only beneficial for the rider but also for the pedestrians and the people around.
Sam John has done MBA in marketing and father of two angels. He loves to rides scooters and skateboards in all form and love to write about it. Read more about him